Update Redhat 9.0 (Shrike) to handle Daylight Savings Time (DST 2007) change

 

Download tzdata2007c.tar.gz from ftp://elsie.nci.nih.gov/pub/

extract to timezonedata directory

/usr/local/etc/zoneinfo

Mine seems to be under /usr/share/zoneinfo

http://wiki.debian.org/TimeZoneChanges

zdump -c 2007 -v America/Denver |grep 2006

America/Denver Sun Apr 2 08:59:59 2006 UTC = Sun Apr 2 01:59:59 2006 MST isdst=0 gmtoff=-25200
America/Denver Sun Apr 2 09:00:00 2006 UTC = Sun Apr 2 03:00:00 2006 MDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-21600
America/Denver Sun Oct 29 07:59:59 2006 UTC = Sun Oct 29 01:59:59 2006 MDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-21600
America/Denver Sun Oct 29 08:00:00 2006 UTC = Sun Oct 29 01:00:00 2006 MST isdst=0 gmtoff=-25200

This shows that we have the wrong data.

Backup original zoneinfo directory:
cd /usr/share
cp -R zoneinfo zoneinfo.bak

Change to directory where you extracted the download file.
cd timezonedata
zic -d /usr/share/zoneinfo northamerica

/etc/localtime needs to be updated
cd /etc/
cp -p localtime localtime.bak

Replace /etc/localtime with America/Denver
cd /usr/share/zoneinfo
cp America/Denver /etc/localtime

Test that changes took place
zdump -c 2007 -v /etc/localtime |grep 2007

/etc/localtime Sun Mar 11 08:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 MST isdst=0 gmtoff=-25200
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 11 09:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 MDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-21600
/etc/localtime Sun Nov 4 07:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:59:59 2007 MDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-21600
/etc/localtime Sun Nov 4 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:00:00 2007 MST isdst=0 gmtoff=-25200